Top Indian cricketers who have represented English counties

No Comment Yet

Top Indian cricketers who have represented English counties

There are about 40 Indian cricketers who have played for English county teams. Here are some of the top names.

India captain Virat Kohli on Thursday inked a deal with top English county side Surrey in his bid to prepare for the tour of England, starting in July.

The list of Indian players who have dabbled in county  includes some illustrious names like the Nawab of Pataudi Sr., Nawab of Pataudi Jr., Bishen Singh Bedi, Farookh Engineer, and Srinivas Venkataraghavan. Here are some of the more recent names from the list.

The little master Sunil Gavaskar during his prime represented Somerset in 15 matches during 1980.

Kapil Dev represented two counties, Northamptonshire and Worcestershire, and played 40 matches between 1981 and 1985.

The current Indian coach Ravi Shastri played for Glamorgan in 60 matches between 1987 and 1991.

Mohammad Azharuddin represented Derbyshire in 30 matches between 1991 and 1994.

The master blaster Sachin Tendulkar played for Yorkshire in 16 matches in the year 1992.

The current ICC match referee Javagal Srinath represented Gloucestershire and Leicestershire and has played 23 matches during 1995-2003.

Anil Kumble played for Leicestershire, Northamptonshire and Surrey. He played 32 matches between 1995 and 2006.

The ‘Wall’ Rahul Dravid reprsented Kent in 16 matches during the year 2000.

VVS Laxman played for Lancashire in 18 matches between 2007 and 2009.

The off-spin wizard Ravichandran Ashwin signed for Worcestershire in the year 2017.

Test specialist Cheteshwar Pujara represented Derbyshire, Yorkshire and Nottinghamshire and till now has played 14 matches. He first played for an English county in 2013.


128 total views, 3 views today




Up Next

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *