Telangana Assembly elections 2018 results live

No Comment Yet

Telangana Assembly elections 2018 results live

Early trends show ruling Telangana Rashtriya Samiti (TRS) establishing lead in several constituencies as counting of votes is underway in 43 locations across Telangana. The maiden polls for the 119-seat Telangana Assembly were held on December 7 with 1,821 candidates in the fray.

However, the key contest is between the Congress-led Praja Kutami (People’s Front), which includes the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the Telangana Jana Samithi and the CPI, who are pitted against the ruling Telangana Rashtriya Samiti (TRS), which is allied with the AIMIM. The BJP is contesting sans alliance.

Here are the live updates:

10:15 AM
Screen grab of Telangana elections 2018 vote share as on 9:21 am from Election Commission's website.

Screen grab of Telangana elections 2018 vote share as on 9:21 am from Election Commission’s website.   | Photo Credit: Courtesy: ECI

The Telangana Rashtriya Samiti has polled over 50 per cent of the total votes polled. The Congress comes a distant second with 21 per cent votes.

10:00 AM
Gampa Govardhan.

Gampa Govardhan.


In Kamareddy, TRS’s incumbent Gampa Govardhan is leading over Congress’ Muslim face Mohd Ali Shabbir. Govardhan won by over 14,000 votes. Previously in 2009 elections, he was elected from the same constituency on the TDP ticket.

9:55 AM

Congress candidate T. Jayaprakash Reddy leading by 600 by third round at Sangareddy against TRS candidate Ch. Prabhakar

Jalala Surendar of Congress is leading in Yellareddy. The party is also leading in Nirmal.

9:50 AM

Trends change in Bahadurpura. AIMIM’s Mohamed Moazam Khan is leading by a margin of 2317 votes.

The AIMIM is contesting only in eight seats this time. The party’s chief had appealed to his supporters to vote for the TRS in the constituencies where AIMIM is not contesting. But curiously, TRS is contesting in Bahadurpura.

9:40 AM

All the three senior leaders of Congress party C. Damodar Rajanarasimha, J. Geeta Reddy and V. Sunitha Lakshma Reddy are trailing at Andol, Zaheerabad and Narsapur respectively.

The erstwhile Medak district also appears to be favouring the TRS. In all the 10 seats, including that of Chief Minister Mr Rao, the TRS is leading.

TRS candidate Tellam Venkat Rao leading over Congress candidate Podiam Veeraiah by 617 votes after first round in ST reserved Bhadrachalam constituency in Telangana’s tribal heartland.

None of the Above (NOTA) option gets 151 votes in Bellampally (SC), 161 in Boath (ST) and 130 in Asifabad (ST) after the first round.

9:25 AM

TRS president and Telangana Caretaker Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao leading by 2,861 votes over his nearest Congress rival Vanteru Pratap Reddy in Gajwel seat after first round. – PTI

9:20 AM

Counting begins at a slow pace at Vijaya engineering college, the designated counting centre for  five constituencies in Khammam district.

TDP’s candidate from Sattupalli constituency  S Venkata Veeraiah leads by a slender margin of around 1200 votes as per initial trends of counting.

9:15 AM
Secunderabad Cantonment (SC) Assembly Constituency counting Hall at Wesley college, on Tuesday.

Secunderabad Cantonment (SC) Assembly Constituency counting Hall at Wesley college, on Tuesday.   | Photo Credit: G. Ramakrishna

In Kukatpally, TRS’s incumbent MLA M. Krishna Rao is leading over TDP’s Nandamuri Suhasini, daughter of N. Harikrishna. It is expected that the main contest would be between the TRS and the TDP although BJP and Bahujan Samaj Party too are in the fray this time.

In Jagtial, the contest is once again between Congress’ Jeevan Reddy and TRS’s M. Sanjay Kumar. Incumbent Mr. Reddy is trailing to Mr. Kumar by over 6000 votes

9:05 AM

Early trends show the TRS is leading in a few constituencies.

In Nirmal district’s Mundhole, the TRS is leading by over 1100 votes. In Warangal West, TRS candidate D Vinay Bhaskar is leading. The party is also leading in Jagtial, Koratla, Kukatpaly and Husnabad.

In all the five districts of Nalgonda, TRS is leading.

9:00 AM

In Bahadurpura, BJP’s Haneef Ali is leading over TRS’s Mir Inayath Ali Baqri by a margin of 376 votes. Bahadurpura seat in Hyderabad was created in 2009. Mohammad Moazam Khan of AIMIM is the sitting candidate.

8:50 AM

TRS’ Harish Rao leads

Early trends are arriving. At the end of first round, T. Harish Rao of TRS is leading in Siddipet. Mr. Rao is the Irrigation Minister in the Chandrashekhara Rao government. This is the sixth time he is contesting in this constituency. If he wins today, it will be a double hat-trick for Mr. Rao.

8:40 AM

Of the 119 constituencies, 18 constituencies are reserved for the Scheduled Caste candidates and nine constituencies are reserved for the Scheduled Tribes candidates. These 27 seats could be the decider of the election results.

In fact, the Telangana Congress came up with a ‘Mission 31’ plan last year to capture these seats.

8:15 AM

People’s Front leaders seek first chance, if it’s hung

Show of strength: People’s Front leaders after meeting Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan in Hyderabad.

Show of strength: People’s Front leaders after meeting Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan in Hyderabad.

A day before the counting of votes, People’s Front leaders, led by TPCC chief N. Uttam Kumar Reddy, met Governor E.S.L. Narsimhan and sought the first chance in the event of the results throwing up hung Assembly.

The significant development came even as the MIM president Asaduddin Owaisi had wide-ranging consultations with the Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao at Pragati Bhavan triggering speculation that the former will extend support to the TRS, if there is fractured mandate.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by Daily Report and is published from The Hindu.)


1,195 total views, 6 views today




Up Next

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *